Save Our Supplements

In September 2016, Health Canada proposed changes to the way natural health products could be regulated. The changes proposed could lead to:

  • Reduced oversight for some of these products;
  • Reduced amount of information available to you about the natural health products you rely on; and,
  • Increased cost of products.

Canada is a global leader in regulating natural health products and we’d like to keep it that way.

As one of the 79% of Canadians that use natural health products we are encouraging you to tell Health Canada in person that you support the current regulatory framework and your continued access to choose safe and effective natural health products. Attend one of the following sessions to share your feedback. Please note you must pre-register to attend. 

Date Location Registration
September 7 to October 24, 2016 Online This consultation is now closed.
April 4, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Saskatoon, Sask. This consultation is now closed.
April 5, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Vancouver, B.C. This consultation is now closed.
April 20, 2017
9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Yellowknife, N.W.T. Register Now
April 24, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Montreal, Que. Register Now
April 28, 2017
9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Halifax, N.S. Register Now
New session added:
May 1, 2017
6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. 
WebEx consultation session (English) Register Now
May 2, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Toronto (downtown), Ont. Register Now
May 3, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Toronto (airport), Ont. Register Now
May 5, 2017
9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
WebEx consultation session (English) Register Now
May 5, 2017
1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
WebEx consultation session (French) Register Now

 

If you don’t live in or near one of these areas please consider attending the webinars that will be taking place online on May 1 and May 5.


Proposing Less Product Oversight

Under the existing Natural Health Products Regulations, Health Canada reviews all natural health products and only approves them if sufficient evidence is submitted to show that each product is safe, effective, and high-quality. Under the consultation that was released in September, Health Canada proposed that only products considered high-risk and some products that are considered moderate-risk will be reviewed. Health Canada will not review products that are in the low-risk category. Instead, this proposal suggested that these products will be allowed to go to market right away, meaning that anyone can begin selling products without any review from the department in our government that is responsible for public health and safety.

Sending a letter to your MP today lets him or her know that you disagree with this change, and want to be sure that Health Canada has reviewed every product on the market for its safety, quality, and efficacy.


Proposing Less Information

The consultation document released by Health Canada proposed changes that could limit the information available on the packaging of many low-risk products. Instead, some of these products could only have a generic statement on their label about what they contain, not how they can be used, as well as a disclaimer noting that the product has not be reviewed by Health Canada.

Example of a current label

Example of a label if the proposed changes are passed:

By removing much of the information available about these products, consumers will be unable to make informed purchasing decisions, and as a result, many of these products will be forced to be pulled from store shelves. Those that remain will likely become more expensive to compensate for re-labelling costs and reduced sales.


Learn more

This proposal as released in September is trying to fix a system that is not broken and will be a step backward instead of forward. Our current regulations take into account the unique properties and low-risk nature of these products, ensuring you have access to NHPs that are safe, effective and high-quality, while respecting your freedom of choice, and the philosophical and cultural diversity of our country.

 

Want to find out more?

Click here to sign up for our newsletter and receive updates about this proposal as they develop, as well as information about vitamins, supplements and natural living tips. 

Click here to find out more about these proposed changes and how they will impact you.

Click here for a list of frequently asked questions (F.A.Q.s) about Health Canada's proposal.

Click here to read our latest blog detailing these recent developments. 

Click here to learn more about the existing NHP Regulations.

Sauvons nos suppléments

En septembre 2016, Santé Canada a proposé de modifier la réglementation des produits de santé naturels. Les changements proposés pourraient avoir les conséquences suivantes :

  • Diminuer la surveillance de certains produits;
  • Réduire l’étendue de l’information qui vous est fournie sur les produits de santé naturels sur lesquels vous comptez;
  • Augmenter le coût des produits.

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial de la réglementation des produits de santé naturels et nous aimerions continuer dans cette voie.

Puisque vous faites partie des 79 % de Canadiens qui utilisent des produits naturels, nous vous invitons instamment à aller exprimer en personne à Santé Canada votre appui pour le cadre réglementaire actuel ainsi que pour l’accès continu à un choix de produits naturels sûrs et efficaces. Assistez à l’une des séances prévues pour faire connaître votre opinion. Veuillez noter que vous devez réserver votre place. 

Date Lieu Inscription
Du 7 septembre au 24 octobre 2016 En ligne Cette consultation est maintenant terminée.
4 avril 2017
13 h – 16 h 30
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) Cette consultation est maintenant terminée.
5 avril 2017
13 h – 16 h 30
Vancouver (C.-B.) Cette consultation est maintenant terminée.
20 avril 2017
9 h – 12 h 30
Yellowknife (T.N.‑O.) Inscrivez-vous
24 avril 2017
13 – 16 h 30
Montréal (Québec) Inscrivez-vous
28 avril 2017
9 h – 12 h 30
Halifax (N.‑É.) Inscrivez-vous
Nouvelle:
1 mai 2017
18 h – 21 h 30
Séance de consultation WebEx (anglais) Inscrivez-vous
2 mai 2017
13 h – 16 h 30
Toronto (centre-ville) (Ont.) Inscrivez-vous
3 mai 2017
13 h – 16 h 30
Toronto (aéroport) (Ont.) Inscrivez-vous
5 mai 2017
9 h – 12 h 30
Séance de consultation WebEx (anglais) Inscrivez-vous
5 mai 2017
13 h – 16 h 30
Séance de consultation WebEx (français) Inscrivez-vous

 

Si vous ne vivez pas dans une de ces localités ou à proximité, vous pouvez assister au webinaire qui aura lieu le 1 mai et le 5 mai. 


Proposition de diminution de la surveillance des produits

En vertu du Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels actuel, Santé Canada examine tous les produits de santé naturels et ne les approuve que si des preuves suffisantes sont fournies pour montrer que chaque produit est sûr, efficace et de haute qualité. Dans le document de consultation présenté en septembre dernier, Santé Canada proposait de n’examiner que les produits jugés à risque élevé et certains produits à risque modéré. Santé Canada n’examinera plus les produits classés comme étant à faible risque. Selon cette proposition, la mise en marché de ces produits serait autorisée d’emblée, de sorte que des produits pourraient être mis en vente sans aucun examen par le ministère chargé de veiller à la santé et à la sécurité du public. 

Il vous suffira d’une minute et de trois étapes simples pour envoyer un message à votre député(e) et lui faire savoir que les changements proposés sont inacceptables.


Proposition de réduction de l’information

Le document de consultation publié par Santé Canada proposait des changements qui pourraient limiter l’information disponible sur l’étiquette de nombreux produits à faible risque. Certains de ces produits afficheraient plutôt une déclaration générale au sujet de leur contenu, et non sur la façon de les utiliser, ainsi qu’un avis de non-responsabilité indiquant que Santé Canada n’a pas examiné le produit.

Le retrait d’une grande partie de l’information fournie au sujet de ces produits fera en sorte que les consommateurs ne pourront plus prendre de décisions éclairées; en conséquence, bon nombre de ces produits seront éventuellement retirés du marché. Ceux qui restent se vendront à des prix plus élevés, compte tenu des coûts supplémentaires de réétiquetage et de la diminution des ventes. 


Renseignez-vous

La proposition, telle que publiée en septembre, revient à essayer de régler un problème qui n’en est pas un et constituerait bien davantage un pas vers l’arrière que vers l’avant. Notre réglementation actuelle tient compte des propriétés uniques de ces produits et du faible risque qu’ils posent, vous assurant un accès à des PSN qui sont sûrs, efficaces et de haute qualité, tout en respectant votre liberté de choix, ainsi que la diversité philosophique et culturelle de notre pays

Cliquez ici pour plus de détails sur les changements proposés et sur les répercussions qu’ils pourront avoir sur vous.

Cliquez ici pour accéder à une FAQ

Cliquez ici pour vous renseigner sur la réglementation 

Séance de consultation WebEx (anglais)