Natural Health Product Regulation

Canadians can be proud that our country is a global leader in the regulations of natural health products (NHPs). Our rigorous and advanced regulatory system protects our health and safety while ensuring we have access to innovative, safe, effective and high quality NHPs that 79 per cent of Canadians rely on.

All NHPs sold in Canada are subject to the Natural Health Products Regulations, which came into effect on January 1, 2004. These regulations were created after consultations with Canadian consumers, academics, health care practitioners and industry stakeholders. They address Canadians' concerns about NHP availability and safety, as well as the 53 recommendations made by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health in 1998.

But recently, Health Canada launched a proposal called the Consulting Canadians on the Regulation of Self-Care Products in Canada, which proposes changes that could significantly alter the way natural health products are regulated, and impact many of products you use on a daily basis. Learn more about this proposal and help us stop it by clicking the button below. 

The pre-approval system

The Canadian approach to regulation is often referred to as a “pre-approval” system which means that all NHPs must be approved by Health Canada before they are allowed to be legally sold in Canada. 

Other countries have alternative methods for regulating NHPs. For example, the United States regulates NHPs (known as “dietary supplements”) as food products and uses an approach referred to as “post market reporting.” This means that NHPs can be marketed and sold in the U.S. without government review or approval and manufacturers are expected to report any adverse effects. 

The Natural Product Number (NPN) and Homeopathic Medicine Drug Identification Number (DIN-HM)

 

 

The Natural Product Number (NPN) is an eight-digit number located on the product label. Found on all NHPs legally licensed for sale in Canada, this number means that the product has been assessed by Health Canada and deemed to be safe, effective and of high quality. Best of all, all the information attached to this number is completely traceable through Health Canada’s Licensed Natural Health Products Database.

A Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) is an eight-digit number that must be displayed on the label of any homeopathic product that has been approved for sale in Canada. Homeopathic Medicines are a unique class of natural health products, but undergo similar licensing and approval processes through Health Canada.

Licensing

In order to sell an NHP in Canada, a company must have a product and site licence.

To get product and site licenses, specific labelling and packaging requirements must be met, good manufacturing practices must be followed, and proper safety and efficacy evidence must be provided.

In order to receive a product licence, the company must complete a Product Licence Application. This detailed document about the product must include: medicinal ingredients, source material, dose, potency, non-medicinal ingredients and recommended use(s).

All Canadian manufacturers, packagers, labellers, and importers of NHPs must have site licenses. These licenses require manufacturers to maintain proper distribution records and have proper procedures for product recalls and for the handling, storage and delivery of their products.

Manufacturers must also meet Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) requirements, including: proper standards and practices for the testing, manufacturing, storage, handling and distribution of natural health products. More information on Good Manufacturing Practices for NHPs is available in the Good Manufacturing Practices Guidance Document.

All of this information, and more, is available on Health Canada’s website here.

Want to learn more about the benefits of NHPs and how to use them to support your naturally healthy lifestyle? Explore our blog and Lifestyle Tips pages, and consider signing up for our newsletter. To find a CHFA Member natural health store near you, click here.

Do you own a business in the natural health industry? Learn about the many benefits of becoming a CHFA Member here

La réglementation des produits de santé naturels au Canada

Les Canadiens ont de quoi être fier que le Canada soit un chef de file de la réglementation des produits de santé naturels (PSN) à l’échelle mondiale. Ils savent que son régime réglementaire rigoureux et avancé contribue à la protection de leur santé et de leur sécurité, tout en leur garantissant un accès à des PSN innovateurs, sûrs, efficaces et de grande qualité auxquels se fient 79 % des Canadiens.

Tous les PSN vendus au Canada sont assujettis au Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels, qui est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004. Ce Règlement a été adopté après des consultations menées auprès de consommateurs, d’universitaires, de praticiens de la santé et d’intervenants de l’industrie. Il tient compte des préoccupations des Canadiens au sujet de l’accessibilité et de l’innocuité des PSN, ainsi que des 53 recommandations formulées en 1998 par le Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur la santé.

Le système de pré-approbation

L’approche canadienne en matière de réglementation est souvent qualifiée de système de « pré-approbation », ce qui signifie que tous les PSN doivent être homologués par Santé Canada avant de pouvoir être légalement vendus au Canada. 

D’autres pays ont recours à des méthodes différentes de réglementation des PSN. Les États-Unis, par exemple, réglementent les PSN (appelés « suppléments alimentaires ») en tant que produits alimentaires et font appel à une approche de « déclaration après commercialisation ». Ainsi, les PSN peuvent être mis en marché et vendus aux États-Unis sans évaluation ou approbation gouvernementale préalable et les fabricants sont tenus de déclarer tous les effets indésirables. 

Le numéro de produit naturel (NPN) et de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM)

 

 

Le numéro de produit naturel (NPN), composé de huit chiffres, figure sur l’étiquette de tous les PSN vendus légalement au Canada; il atteste qu’après évaluation par Santé Canada, le produit a été jugé sûr, efficace et de grande qualité. Mieux encore, toute l’information liée à ce numéro peut être retracée à la source grâce à la Base de données sur les produits de santé naturels homologués de Santé Canada.

Un numéro de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM), composé de huit chiffres, doit figurer sur l’étiquette de tout produit homéopathique dont la vente est autorisée au Canada. Les remèdes homéopathiques forment une catégorie particulière de produits naturels, mais sont assujettis aux mêmes processus de demande de licences et d’homologation de Santé Canada. 

Les licences

Avant de vendre un produit de santé naturel au Canada, une entreprise doit détenir des licences de mise en marché et d’exploitation.

Afin d’obtenir ses licences de mise en marché et d’exploitation, le fabricant doit respecter des exigences précises en matière d’étiquetage et d’emballage, suivre les Bonnes pratiques de fabrication (BPF) et fournir les preuves d’innocuité et d’efficacité.

Pour obtenir la licence de mise en marché d’un produit, l’entreprise qui le fabrique doit remplir une demande, document détaillé qui doit inclure : les ingrédients médicinaux, les matières premières, la posologie, la concentration, les ingrédients non médicinaux et les fins recommandées.

Tous les fabricants, emballeurs, étiqueteurs et importateurs de PSN canadiens doivent détenir une licence d’exploitation. En vertu de cette licence, le fabricant doit tenir à jour des registres de distribution appropriés et mettre en place des procédures pour le rappel, la manutention, l’entreposage et la distribution de ses produits.

Les fabricants doivent aussi appliquer de Bonnes pratiques de fabrication (BPF) qui comprennent des normes et des pratiques appropriées pour l’essai, la fabrication, l’entreposage, la manipulation et la distribution des produits de santé naturels. Le Document de référence sur les Bonnes pratiques de fabrication contient des renseignements détaillés sur les bonnes pratiques de fabrication relatives aux PSN.

Vous trouverez aussi cette information, et plus encore, sur le site Web de Santé Canada (cliquez ici).

Vous souhaiteriez en savoir plus sur les bienfaits des PSN et la manière de les utiliser pour soutenir un mode de vie sain et naturel? Consultez notre blogue et nos pages de Conseils sur le mode de vie, et songez à vous abonner à notre bulletin.

Possédez-vous une entreprise dans le secteur des produits naturels? Renseignez-vous sur les nombreux avantages de devenir membre de la CHFA en cliquant ici