Resources and Links

In September 2016, Health Canada launched Consulting Canadians on the Regulation of Self-Care Products which proposes changes that could significantly alter the way natural health products (NHPs) are regulated in Canada. To learn more about the proposed changes and stay updated, Health Canada’s Self-Care Products website provides consumers with the most current information on the proposal.

The Natural Health Products Regulations came into effect in Canada in January, 2004. These regulations provide guidance on product licensing; site licensing; Good Manufacturing Practices (GMPs) for Natural Health Products (NHPs); labelling information; and clinical trials for NHPs. Important links include:

Licensed NHP Database

Consumers wanting to learn more about a particular natural health product (NHP) can use Health Canada’s Licensed Natural Health Product Database. To use it, simply enter the eight-digit Natural Product Number (NPN) found on a product’s label. This database will grant you access to useful information for each product, such as:

  • product brand name;
  • product licence holder;
  • product's medicinal ingredients;
  • product's non-medicinal ingredients;
  • product's dosage form;
  • product's recommended use or purpose (i.e. its health claim or indication);
  • And risk information associated with the product's use (i.e. cautions, warnings, contra-indications and known adverse reactions).

The information in this database is updated daily and the website includes a User Guide to help consumers navigating it. You will also find a Terminology Guide to help you understand the words and terms used within the database. 

For more information and to access the Licensed Natural Products Database, click here.

Natural Health Products Ingredients Database

The Natural Health Products Ingredients Database is a repository of scientific terminologies and pre-cleared information approved by the Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (NNHPD).

This database provides detailed information about approved medicinal and non-medicinal ingredients, as well as NNHPD monographs and abbreviated labelling standards.

The information you will find in the database includes:

  1. Medicinal ingredients;
  2. Non-medicinal ingredients;
  3. Non-natural health product ingredients (not allowed as medicinal ingredients in natural health products or under specific restrictions);
  4. Selected single-ingredient NNHPD monographs and selected single-ingredient abbreviated labelling standards (AbLS);
  5. Ingredient details relevant to their type (for example, Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) numbers for chemical substances, organism parts and preparations for organism substances, etc.);
  6. Medicinal, non-medicinal, and non-NHP ingredient restriction details; and
  7. Controlled vocabularies that represent a standard for the electronic transmission of core sets of natural health product information (e.g. lists for dosage forms, route of administrations, ingredient categories, organism parts, organism preparations, non-medicinal purposes, etc.)

For more information and to access the Natural Health Products Ingredient Database, click here.

To stay informed on important regulatory initiatives, NNHPD's What's New page houses the latest additions and significant updates to the NHP sector.

All of this information, and more, is available on Health Canada’s website here

Are you interested in learning more about the benefits of NHPs and how to use them to support a naturally healthy lifestyle? Explore our blog and Lifestyle Tips pages, and consider signing up for our newsletter. To find a CHFA Member natural health store near you, click here.

Do you own a business in the natural health industry? Learn about the many benefits of becoming a CHFA Member here.

Ressources et liens utiles

En septembre 2016, Santé Canada a lancé une Consultation des Canadiens sur la réglementation des produits d’autosoins au Canada, proposant des changements qui pourraient entraîner une transformation importante de la réglementation des produits de santé naturels (PSN). Pour mieux vous renseigner sur les changements proposés et vous tenir au courant, le site Web de Santé Canada sur les produits d’autosoins présente aux consommateurs l’information la plus récente sur la proposition. 

Le Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels est entré en vigueur au Canada en janvier 2004. Il fournit des orientations sur les licences de mise en marché, les licences d’exploitation, les Bonnes pratiques de fabrication (BPF) de produits de santé naturels (PSN), l’étiquetage, ainsi que les essais cliniques pour les PSN. Voici quelques liens importants :

Base de données des PSN homologués

Les consommateurs qui voudraient se renseigner davantage au sujet d’un produit de santé naturel (PSN) particulier peuvent consulter la Base de données des produits de santé naturels homologués de Santé Canada. Il suffit d’inscrire le numéro de produit naturel (NPN) à huit chiffres qui figure sur l’étiquette du produit pour pouvoir accéder à divers renseignements, notamment :

  • le nom du produit;
  • le nom du titulaire de la licence de mise en marché;
  • le nom des ingrédients médicinaux;
  • le nom des ingrédients non médicinaux;
  • la forme posologique du produit;
  • les usages ou fins recommandés du produit (c.-à-d. indications ou allégations de santé);
  • les risques associés à l’utilisation du produit (c.-à-d. mises en garde, avertissements, contre-indications et effets indésirables connus).

Cette information est mise à jour quotidiennement. Le site Web inclut également un Guide de l’utilisateur destiné à aider les consommateurs à naviguer dans la base de données, de même qu’un Guide des termes pour les aider à comprendre la terminologie qui y est utilisée.

Pour en savoir plus et pour accéder à la Base de données, cliquez ici

Base de données sur les ingrédients de produits de santé naturels

La Base de données sur les ingrédients de produits de santé naturels est un référentiel de terminologie scientifique et d’information pré-autorisée, approuvée par la Direction des produits de santé naturels et sans ordonnance (DPSNSO).

Cette base de données contient des renseignements détaillés sur les ingrédients médicinaux et non médicinaux approuvés, de même que des monographies de produits et des normes d’étiquetage abrégées de la DPSNSO.

Vous trouverez dans la base de données les renseignements suivants :

  1. ingrédients médicinaux;
  2. ingrédients non médicinaux;
  3. ingrédients non utilisables dans des produits de santé naturels (non autorisés en tant qu’ingrédients médicinaux dans des produits de santé naturels ou assujettis à certaines restrictions);
  4. certaines monographies à ingrédient unique et certaines normes d’étiquetage abrégées pour un ingrédient de la DPSNSO;
  5. des détails pertinents pour un type d’ingrédients (par exemple, les numéros du Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) pour des substances chimiques, des parties d’organismes et des préparations pour des substances dérivées d’organismes);
  6. les détails sur les restrictions relatives à des ingrédients médicinaux, non médicinaux et non utilisables dans les PSN;
  7. des vocabulaires contrôlés qui servent de norme pour la transmission électronique d'ensembles de renseignements sur les produits de santé naturels (p. ex. des listes de formes posologiques, de voies d'administration, de catégories d'ingrédients, de parties d'organisme, de préparations dérivées d'organismes, de fins non médicinales).

Pour en savoir plus et pour accéder à la Base de données sur les ingrédients de produits de santé naturels, cliquez ici.

La page Web de la DPSNSO intitulée Quoi de neuf présente les derniers ajouts et les mises à jour importantes pour le secteur des PSN.

Vous trouverez aussi cette information, et plus encore, sur le site Web de Santé Canada (cliquez ici).

Vous souhaiteriez en savoir plus sur les bienfaits des PSN et la manière de les utiliser pour soutenir un mode de vie sain et naturel? Consultez notre blogue et nos pages de Conseils sur le mode de vie, et songez à vous abonner à notre bulletin. Pour trouver un marchand de produits naturels membre de la CHFA près de chez vous, cliquez ici.

Possédez-vous une entreprise dans le secteur des produits naturels? Renseignez-vous sur les nombreux avantages de devenir membre de la CHFA en cliquant ici.